High Commissioner Muzammil calls on Sultan of Selangor
August 15, 2017
High Commissioner Visits Mahindarama Temple in Penang
August 18, 2017
Show all

Malaysia launches eVisa and eVISA Communication Centre

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak presents a plaque Sri Lankan High Commissioner to Malaysia as Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Director General Immigration Datuk Seri Mustafar Ali watch on, during the launch of eVisa and eVCOMM at the Immigration Department

The Immigration Department’s eVisa and eVISA Communication Centre (eVCOMM) was officially launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak on 15 August 2017. The eVisa programme, first introduced in March 2016, aims to enhance the visa application service, as well as increasing visa application to promote Malaysia as a tourism hub. The eVisa is a web-based visa application site which offers tourists a fast, convenient and secure way to apply for Malaysian visas.

This is only applicable to 10 nations which are China, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Serbia, Montenegro and Nepal. There are 18 eVisa hubs throughout the world and with plans afoot to open up two more in Brazil and Russia by year end. These hubs will facilitate eVisa application from the citizens of the 10 countries. This will facilitate International tourists, students, as well as expats can obtain their visa within 48 hours after application, without having to go to visa centres, high commissions or consulate offices as before.